The Ankenbrandt’s in their Homeland

7 Aug

Yes, as you can tell from our name…we are GERMANS. It has made us feel slightly at home here. Apart from the constant stank of cigarettes and the rather unpleasant sound of the language, we think we could even live here. The food is great…the beer is great…the company is great…well, just the company of my parents. Even though my mother could make friends with a brick wall, (and does, by the way), I would still prefer to just hang with them. German’s are efficient and make great bratwurst, but they don’t really understand southern hospitality…and definitely don’t understand the preciousness of the word “y’all.”

 

The precious town of Rothenburg…our first stop in our homeland.

But our time here has been extraordinary thus far. And let me just say…drumroll please…that I have not been sick ONE time since we have arrived in this country. Africa stomach has left me, and I must say I am overjoyed. I attribute it to the array of meat, cheese, beer, meat, more cheese, potatoes, and more beer. What can I say, I have German in my blood.

Don’t judge…we’re on vacation!!

Our first stop was in the town of Rothenburg, just about the cutest little German town you could imagine. We hiked, hung out with our inn keeper who I am sure doubles as Santie Claus in the winter months, and visited the Crime and Punishment Museum which was both strange and fascinating, as sick as that is to say.

Dad hanging with Herr Hocher, our innkeeper, or Santa!

Locked up in the stocks at the Crime and Punishment museum.

This morning we boarded a train for Beilstein, the sweetest little town on the Mosel River which runs into the Rein. On our drive in we saw about 20 castles nestled up in the lush German hills hugging the Mosel Valley. It is like a little fairytale land here…or Lord of the Rings. One of the two. Tomorrow we are visiting one of the best of these castles, as well as partaking in the wine festival going on here in the valley.

On the Mosel…beautiful.

Leave a Reply

