Farewell my dear Rwanda

3 Aug

In approximately 5 hours, I will be sitting on a plane with my parents headed to Germany, looking at the rolling hills of Rwanda pass beneath me for the last time. Well, not the last time….I’ll be back. Last night I had a last dinner with my Rwanda family and it was the perfect way to say goodbye to this incredible place and the people I have come to love here more than can be articulated.

But I am not going to lie…I have gotten sick 2 other times this week and thought that the Lord was telling me, “This is it, James,” so I am ready to move on to a land where no more squishy friends will make it their lives work to take up residence in my intestines. That, my friends, I am ready for.

My last week here has been a whirlwind, emotional, wonderful, hard week. I am ready to be an Amurrican again, but Rwanda has stolen a large part of who I am and that has become so evident to me these past few days as I have said my goodbyes.

Here are some pics of some of the last adventures I had in Rwanda with my parents by my side.

We saw lots of monks on a walk we took our second day in Nyungwe forest. They are so hilariously weird.

Happy Birthday SUS! We got to celebrate twice for good ole’ Momma’s day. Once at Nyungwe where they brought out this cake with a literal fire cracker on it…and the other in Musanze at Virunga Lodge up in the Rwandan Volcanoes. I’d say it was pretty awesome.

Last visit with some of my favorite kiddos up in the Village where my friend Frances teaches. Love them.

They LOVED Susie. They sang her Happy Birthday in Kinyarwanda and one of them even rapped and broke it down for her. Awesome.

Most beautiful view ever! Yes, that is real life!

Second Birthday dinner at Virunga Lodge, drinking tea by the fire.

Last picture with my awesome team and family here. Love them.

Off to Germany we go!! Mother, showing me the whole plan. I am so obviously enthralled. Bring on the schnitzel!

Leave a Reply

