Bucket List #2…BOOM

14 Jul

Rwandan baby strapped to my back….CHECK.

For any of those who have been following my blog for the duration of my time in Rwanda, you know that I have a strange obsession with getting a baby strapped to my back like the Rwandan mommas. It is number 2 on my bucket list, just under meeting Paul Kagame…who I saw driving his car the other day btw. No big deal.

So today we were in the market, browsing around and I came upon a seamstress and her baby. She handed me her presh little fluffy haired babe, and I got the grandest of all ideas. Why not ask her if she will strap her baby to my back Rwandan style? So I asked. And she laughed at the crazy muzungu, and then threw that babe up on it’s white aunties back. I only had little Manzi strapped to me for about 5 minutes, but it was enough for me. So here is to Rwandan bucket list number 2…done, and done.

 

 

 

Manzi…couldn’t you just squeeze his cheeks.

Leaning over, letting the women strap him on!

3 Responses to “Bucket List #2…BOOM”

  1. susie July 14, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    AWWWW Im happy for you but wanted to be there for that one! Oh well….. can we find another babe and do it again in 2 weeks???

  2. Deanna Swope July 14, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    Finally! Adorable Rwandan babe. Happy for that moment, Jamie! Hope you’re feeling better!

  3. Sandy Whitten July 15, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Way to go Jamie! I want a copy of that picture printed to keep – it’s pure joy on your face. I LOVE IT!

Leave a Reply

